This is my first foray into blogging after a long absence, lurking in the shadows of others (occasionally with malicious intent) as all the while the blogosphere has exploded into ubiquity.

Through photos, observations, and maybe an unspeakably offensive haiku or two, I’ll be documenting my life as I set off on what purports to be a really exciting prod around the nether regions of the unknown.

Destination no. 1 for my rambling (literary and literally) is Bogotá, which will become my home for nine months during a contract to teach English at a Colombian university.

While nine months might be ample time to gestate, I’ll try to resist the temptation.

In the meantime, I have to figure out how to pack my life into 20kg; ironically, coming home from Colombia, just 1kg could mean life – but I digress.

There’s more packing than blogging to be done at this stage. Hasta ahora.

